Skip to main content


Independence Blue Cross cosponsors annual Richardson Dilworth Award


Independence Blue Cross (Independence) is a proud cosponsor of the City of Philadelphia’s 2016 annual Richardson Dilworth Award. Philadelphia Mayor Jim Kenney hosted an event this morning at City Hall to announce this year’s winners. Daniel J. Hilferty, president and CEO of Independence Blue Cross and cochair of the Dilworth Award Selection Panel, said, “This year’s Dilworth Award recipients exemplify the spirit that has made Philadelphia one of America’s most exciting modern cities. Our city employees’ commitment to public service, innovation and customer service makes life better for their fellow citizens.”

The Dilworth Award recipients for 2016 are:

  • Joseph Sullivan, Chief Inspector, Homeland Security Bureau, Philadelphia Police Department, Richardson Dilworth Award for Distinguished Public Service
  • Laura Cassidy, Special Assistant to the Commissioner, Department of Prisons, Richardson Dilworth Award for Innovation in Government
  • Joanne Dahme, General Manager, Public Affairs, Philadelphia Water Department, Richardson Dilworth Award for Excellence in Customer Service

Independence Senior Vice President of Public Affairs Stephen Fera (pictured above) participated in the program at City Hall. The Dilworth Awards were established in 2011 by former Mayor Michael A. Nutter to recognize annually the contributions of outstanding public employees for the City of Philadelphia.

The outstanding city employees recognized represent the important values of public service, customer service, and innovation. Good corporate citizenship is a core value for Independence, along with striving to make a difference in Philadelphians’ lives.